The Milestone Award is the foundation’s highest recognition of fruitful long-term work for the foundation in pursuit of the purpose stated in the foundation’s statutes.

The award is presented to the recipient at a Mobilia exhibition opening ceremony or at other ceremonial occasions deemed appropriate by the foundation’s Board of Directors. Nominations for the Milestone Award can be made by representatives of the foundation’s supporting communities. The award can be granted to individuals or communities. The Board of Directors of the Mobilia Foundation approved these rules at its meeting on 15 March 2001.

Rules for granting the Mobilia Foundation award

The Mobilia Foundation’s numbered Milestone Award is granted by decision of the Foundation’s Board of Directors in accordance with the following rules:

To individuals
For work done for the foundation and its purpose, and for other outstanding achievements in the field of road transport history.

To communities
To organisations that have contributed to the road transport history sector with merit and perseverance.

Applying for the award
Applications for the award must be made in writing to the Mobilia Foundation’s Board of Directors. The proposal to grant an award must be made at least two months before the date of issuing the award.

Award winners

At the 15th anniversary of the Mobilia Foundation in 2001, the establishment and launch of the Foundation were commemorated in a special series of awards:

Lilja and Olavi Sallinen
Jussi Juurikkala
Jouko Loikkanen
Matti Niemi
Seppo Westerlund
Jaakko Heinonen
Teppo S. Kaivola
Anja Silvenius
Pertti Moll
Harri Nykänen

The Mobilia Foundation’s awards for the promotion of its activities:

Jukka Mäkelä, 2002
Markku Melkko, 2003
Juha Norppa-Rahkola, 2007
Leena Sälejoki-Hiekkanen, 25 March 2011
Jukka Hirvelä, 25 March 2011
Veikko Karjalainen, 25 March 2011
Reijo Kurkinen, 25 March 2011
Anna-Kaisa Lehtinen, 25 March 2011
Eero Nieminen, 25 March 2011
Tarja Törmänen, 25 March 2011
Kimmo Levä, 30 September 2011

At the 30th anniversary of the Mobilia Foundation in 2016, the following people were awarded for their contribution to the Foundation’s activities, long-term cooperation, or long career with Mobilia:

Juhani Intosalmi
Pekka Holopainen
Kai Heng
Matti Höyssä
Kalevi Lintula
Jari Pietilä
Marketta Hyvärinen
Päivi Vattulainen
Antti Prusi
Martti Piltz
Taisto Pantakoski
Tolppa Restaurants Oy
Taru Järvenpää
Tapani Mauranen